WINTER STORM LATEST: Officials warn of black ice, dangerous travel Sunday night, Monday
Travel Monday morning may be tricky for motorists as roads refreeze into sheets of ice, emergency officials warned late Sunday, Jan. 16.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
3 qualify for Flowery Branch special election
04012018 FLOWERY 1.jpg
Flowery Branch City Hall at 5410 W. Pine St. is the South Hall city's government center, including the police department. - photo by Scott Rogers

The June 18 special election to replace former Flowery Branch City Councilwoman Mary Jones has been set.

Qualifying ended Wednesday, April 17, with residents Ed Asbridge, Melissa Brooks and Chip McCallum emerging as candidates for the Post 2 seat.

The seat came open after Jones resigned in December.

The winner will serve out Jones’ term, which ends Dec. 31.

The four-year term for the seat begins Jan. 1, 2020, which means that if the special election winner wants to serve beyond Dec. 31, that person would have to win a Nov. 5 election.

Qualifying is set for Aug. 19-21 at City Hall for the Nov. 5 election, and the fee is $144.

Also up for Nov. 5 election is the Post 1 seat currently held by Chris Mundy.