By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Newspaper group honors Morris for industry leadership
Times photographer Rogers earns 2 third-place awards
09132017 Charles Morris SNPA
Charles Morris Sr. - photo by For The Times

Charles H. Morris Sr., president and CEO of Morris Multimedia Inc., was presented the 2017 Frank W. Mayborn Leadership Award on Monday at the Southern Newspaper Publishers Association’s annual meeting in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The award goes each year to a leader in the industry who has demonstrated great vision. It is named for Texas newspaperman Frank Mayborn, served as president of SNPA from 1961 to 1962.

In presenting the award, SNPA President Chris Reen, president and publisher of The Oklahoman Media Company, said: "Those who have had the pleasure of dealing with Charles Morris through the years know him to be more than willing to share his knowledge and insights of the media business in any way he can to help others. He is highly respected by all those who know him, and very deserving of the prestigious Frank W. Mayborn award."

Morris Multimedia is based in Savannah and is parent company of The Times, Forsyth County News and Dawson County News.

0626AWARDS.Scott Rogers
Scott Rogers

In addition, SNPA announced winners of its annual photo contest. Times photographer Scott Rogers earned third-place honors for spot news photography in both Readers' Choice Awards voted by members and from the Associated Press judges.

Friends to Follow social media