By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Governor names Miller a floor leader for 2015
Butch Miller

State Sen. Butch Miller, R-Gainesville, was named Tuesday as Gov. Nathan Deal’s senior floor leader in the upcoming 2015 legislative session.

“I’m very encouraged,” Miller told The Times. “I take it as a great compliment.”

Miller has served District 49, which covers most of Hall County, since 2010. In 2012 he was elected majority caucus chairman.

As a floor leader, Miller will act as Deal’s right-hand man in the Senate, presenting and defending the governor’s legislative agenda.

Miller said the appointment was in many ways a vindication after he narrowly lost a vote in November to become the state Senate president pro tem.

“The governor doesn’t choose somebody to carry his legislation that he doesn’t think can get it passed,” he added.

Miller said he has been meeting with Deal the past few weeks to discuss the 2015 legislative agenda, which will be unveiled early in the new year.

“If someone wanted to be critical of me, they could say, ‘Well, he only got that opportunity because he knew the governor ...’” Miller said. “Well, that’s true. But had he called my play and I fumbled the ball, he would not be calling on me a second time.”

Miller will serve on the appropriations, assignments, banking and financial institutions, education and youth, ethics, rules and transportation committees along with special appointment committees including the Georgia Music Hall of Fame Board, the Georgia World Congress Center Board and the MARTOC Oversight Committee, which oversees the budget for MARTA.

Other floor leaders in the Senate include Mike Dugan, R-Carrollton, Sen.-elect John F. Kennedy, R-Macon, and Bill Jackson, R-Appling.

In the House, Terry Rogers, R-Clarkesville, was named a floor leader. Rogers represents District 10, which covers parts of White and Habersham counties. He currently serves as deputy whip for the House Majority Leadership Caucus and as vice chairman of the state planning and community affairs committee.

Other floor leaders in the House include Reps. Robert Dickey, R-Musella, Chad Nimmer, R-Blackshear, and Christian Coomer, R-Cartersville.