By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election Day 2013: Polls open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. today
Gainesville Ward 2 poll workers Alpha Pittman, left, and Cheryl Castleberry prepare the provisional ballot voting table Monday as they help ready the precinct for today’s election.

Video interviews of Gainesville mayoral candidates

Charles Alvarez

Danny Dunagan

Debra Harkrider

Rose Johnson

Voters guide for 2013 municipal elections

What: Contested elections for city government positions are on the ballot in Gainesville, Flowery Branch, Clermont and other cities in Northeast Georgia

When: Polls are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday

Runoff: If no candidate in a race receives a majority of votes cast (50 percent plus one vote), a runoff between the top two candidates will be held Dec. 3. You do not have to vote in the general election to vote in the runoff, but you must already be registered to vote.

Voter ID: Each voter will complete a voter certificate when entering their polling place. The poll worker will request to see one of the required forms of photo ID from the voter, then mark on the voter’s certificate the type of ID displayed.Types of ID accepted are:

  • A Georgia driver’s license which was properly issued by the appropriate state agency.
  • A valid voter identification card or other valid identification card issued by a branch, department, agency, or entity of the State of Georgia, any other state, or the United States authorized by law to issue personal identification containing a photograph.
  • A valid United States passport.
  • A valid employee identification card containing a photograph of the elector and issued by any branch, department, agency, or entity of the United States government, this state, or any county, municipality, board, authority, or other entity of this state.
  • A valid United States military identification card containing a photograph of the elector.
  • A valid tribal identification card containing a photograph of the elector.
  • If a voter does not have one of the required forms of photo ID, or if the voter’s name cannot be located on the voter’s list, such voter will be allowed to cast a provisional ballot. Instructions on the provisional balloting process will be displayed at each voting location.

Registration deadline: Only registered voters may vote. The registration deadline for the Nov. 5 election was Oct. 7.

Where to vote


  • Wards 1 and 2, Gainesville Civic Center, 830 Green St.
  • Ward 3, Fair Street Neighborhood Center, 715 Fair St.
  • Ward 4 and 5, Brenau Downtown Center, 301 Main St.

Flowery Branch

  • City Hall, 5517 Main St., Flowery Branch


  • Town Hall, 109 King St., Clermont

There’s an election today, but judging by past history and low early voting turnout, there may be a lot of people who don’t know about it.

Those registered voters in the city limits of Gainesville, Clermont and Flowery Branch can make some choices about who represents them on their city councils.

Four people — Charles Alvarez, Danny Dunagan, Debra Harkrider and Rose Johnson — are vying for an elected mayor position in Gainesville.

In Clermont, Bret Adams, Lynn Adams, no relation, Bradley Armour, Kristi Crumpton and incumbent Mary Ellen “Ma” Rogers are vying for two at-large seats on the Town Council — one of which is being vacated by James “Sonny” Helton.

Three seats are up for grabs in Flowery Branch. Shanon Lutz, wife of Hall County Commissioner Craig Lutz, is running against incumbent Mayor Mike Miller. Incumbent Post 5 Councilwoman Tara Richards faces challenger Chris Fetterman, who has previously served on the council. And retiree Ed Edwards is opposing incumbent Post 3 Councilman Fred Richards.

For those who plan to vote, here are a few things to keep in mind.

Except in Gainesville, voting is happening only at the city halls. Clermont’s City Hall is at 109 King St. and Flowery Branch’s is at 5517 Main St.

In Gainesville, three precincts will be open:

  • Wards 1 and 2 will vote at the Civic Center, 830 Green St.
  • Ward 3 will vote at the Fair Street Neighborhood Center, 715 Fair St.
  • Wards 4 and 5 will vote at the Brenau Downtown Center (former Georgia Mountains Center), 301 Main St.

If you are unsure which ward you live in or have any other questions about the voting process, call the Hall County Elections Office at 770-531-6945.

Polls will be open on Election Day from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. You must bring valid photo identification.

Friends to Follow social media