By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election 2009: Few candidates qualify Tuesday
Placeholder Image

Coming Saturday

In Saturday’s edition, The Times will have a complete wrap up of who qualified for municipal seats across Northeast Georgia, including Hall, Banks, Habersham, Dawson, Jackson, Lumpkin and White counties.

After many area incumbents qualified to seek re-election on Monday, Tuesday was a light day for qualifying for this fall’s municipal elections.

Qualifying ends today for most areas, but goes on through Friday in some cities.

Qualifying begins today in Flowery Branch for three council seats: Post 3, held by Pat Zalewski; Post 4, held by Allen Bryans Sr.; and Post 5, held by
Mary Jones.

Election Day is Nov. 3, and the last day to register to vote in the election is Oct. 5.

By municipality and county, those who qualified for election on Tuesday include:

In Jefferson, Kathy DuBose qualified for the District 2 seat on the City Council and Janice Wilbanks qualified for the District 2 position on the board of education.

Homer City Council member Betty Borders qualified for re-election.

In Gainesville, the two incumbents qualified for seats on City Council: Ward 1 incumbent Danny Dunagan and Ward 4 incumbent Georgia Wangemann.

Candidates qualified for two school board seats in Commerce, Robby Barnett for District 2 and Keelan Rucker for District 1.

In Hoschton, Jim Cleveland qualified for the Post 3 City Council seat.

Regional events