By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Runoff Election Voters Guide
Information you need for a final trip to the polls
Placeholder Image

Georgia voters are heading back to the polls Tuesday for the final time this year to settle three statewide races that remain undecided following the Nov. 4 election.

The race for U.S. senator between Republican incumbent Saxby Chambliss and Democratic challenger Jim Martin heads the ballot. Also to be settled are state contests for Public Service Commission and Appeals Court judge.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

All standard voting procedures remain in place for the runoff. Only registered voters are eligible, but even those who did not vote on Nov. 4 may cast a ballot. Voters will need to produce a valid photo ID to cast a ballot.

Here's a look at what is on the ballot, along with key voter information (D-Democrat; R-Republican:

U.S. Senator
Saxby Chambliss (R, incumbent)
Jim Martin (D)

Public Service Commission, District 4
Lauren W. McDonald Jr. (R)
Jim Powell (D)

Appeals Court Judge (nonpartisan)
Sara Doyle
Mike Sheffield

Lumpkin County
Board of Education, District 1 
Stroud Stacy (incumbent)
Susan L. Sockwell

Voter ID
Each voter will complete a voter certificate when entering their polling place. The poll worker will request to see one of the required forms of photo ID from the voter, then mark on the voter's certificate the type of ID displayed.

The poll worker will verify that the voter is the person pictured on the ID and verify that the voter is in the correct voting location. Then the poll worker will place a voter access card into the ExpressPoll unit, encoding the card with the political party's ballot chosen by the voter. The voter will be directed to a voting unit to cast their ballot as shown on instructions posted in each voting booth.

Types of ID accepted are:

(1) A Georgia driver's license which was properly issued by the appropriate state agency;

(2) A valid voter identification card or other valid identification card issued by a branch, department, agency, or entity of the State of Georgia, any other state, or the United States authorized by law to issue personal identification containing a photograph;

(3) A valid United States passport;

(4) A valid employee identification card containing a photograph of the elector and issued by any branch, department, agency, or entity of the United States government, this state, or any county, municipality, board, authority, or other entity of this state;

(5) A valid United States military identification card containing a photograph of the elector;

(6) a valid tribal identification card containing a photograph of the electorIf a voter does not have one of the required forms of photo ID, or if the voter's name cannot be located on the voter's list, such voter will be allowed to cast a provisional ballot. Instructions on the provisional balloting process will be displayed at each voting location.

Election contacts
For more information, visit the Secretary of State Web site or contact your local elections office:

Hall County Election Supervisor
2285 Browns Bridge Road, Suite 2
Post Office Drawer 1435
Gainesville, GA 30501-1435
Telephone: 770-531-6945
Fax: 770-531-3931

Banks County Chief Registrar
Banks County Courthouse
144 Yonah-Homer Road, Suite 9
Homer, GA 30547-2614
Telephone: 706-677-6260
Fax: 706-677-4102

Dawson County Election Supervisor
462 Memory Lane, Suite 150
Post Office Box 436
Dawsonville, GA 30534-0436
Telephone: 706-344-3640
Fax: 706-344-3642

Forsyth County Election Supervisor
110 East Main St., Suite 200
Cumming, GA 30040-2468
Telephone: 770-781-2118
Fax: 770-886-2825 

Habersham County Chief Registrar
555 Monroe St., Unit 45
Clarkesville, GA 30523-7815
Telephone: 706-754-4068
Fax: 706-754-5836

Jackson County Chief Registrar
Administrative Building
67 Athens St.
Jefferson, GA 30549-1401
Telephone: 706-367-6377
Fax: 706-367-1193

Lumpkin County Election Supervisor
99 Courthouse Hill, Suite G
Dahlonega, GA 30533-0540
Telephone: 706-864-6279
Fax: 706-864-0731

White County Chief Registrar
59 South Main St., Suite C
Cleveland, GA 30528
Telephone: 706-865-2225
Fax: 706-219-0078