By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Georgia to observe 1st Lineman Appreciation Day
Linemen from across Georgia gathered Thursday at the Capitol in Atlanta to be recognized prior to today’s first-ever Georgia Lineman Appreciation Day. Georgia Power employs more than 1,100 line personnel — the company’s first responders when severe weather impacts service to customers — across the state.

Linemen are to receive recognition today with the first Georgia Lineman Appreciation Day.

Georgia Power on Thursday joined with The National Association of Journeymen Linemen, other electric utilities, elected officials and customers to say “thank you” to the state’s linemen at the Capitol in Atlanta prior to today’s observance of Georgia Lineman Appreciation Day. 

“On behalf of Georgia Power, I am extremely proud to recognize the dedicated employees of Georgia Power and the work they do 24 hours a day to ensure the safety, availability and reliability of power to our customers throughout the state,” said Leslie Sibert, vice president of distribution for Georgia Power.

The work of Georgia linemen is visible year round, but is especially pronounced during outages that may occur following spring and summer thunderstorms, tornadoes and winter ice storms including, most recently, the February storm that affected service to hundreds of thousands of residents. In the aftermath of the February storm, one of the most disruptive in company history, thousands of Georgia Power line personnel and contractors worked with crews from other utilities around the clock to restore 700,000 outages in four days.

In addition to serving the company’s 2.4 million customers in Georgia, Georgia Power linemen are often called away from their families to help restore power to neighboring states when major storms or disasters occur. Georgia Power linemen can travel thousands of miles each year and, in 2013, spent weeks in the field helping restore power to customers as far away as Arkansas and Washington, D.C.