By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Placeholder Image
Johnson High School students recently placed in the state Georgia Career Student Association conference. The team brought home five first-place trophies, two second-place trophies and plaques for fourth, fifth and sixth places.
Winning students were:
First place: Jose Diaz, metal working; Sergio Lopez, most improved young man; Antonio Solarsano, Diego Cuevas and Vianney Garcia, creative problem solving team
 Second place: Kayla Mabrey, career exploration manual; Jesus Delgado, mathematical applications
Fourth place: Caroline Barker, PowerPoint presenation
 Fifth place: Mayra Lopez, fashion design; Cody Collins, natural resource management
 Sixth place: Lesli Navarro, culinary arts; Elizabeth Rodriguez, entrepreneurship; Jackie Ramirez, prepared speech; Tyler Trumblay and Diego Martinez, video production

Centennial Arts Academy participated in Math Fest 2008, a statewide math competition at the Georgia International Convention Center. Centennial’s team of 25 fifth-graders competed against more than 800 other fifth-graders.
The team included Garrett Boone, Jotham Calderon, Sydney Calkins, Jack Carnes, Rachel Crow, Elizabeth Fischer, Tessa Greene, Parker Hendrix, Thaddeus Jackson, Jonathan Jenkins, Carolina Malagon, Kiana Mitchell, Jennifer Rodriguez, Daniella Romero, Claudia Rostro, Preston Weeks, Virginia Wells, Ryan Whittemore and Nathan Williams.
Students Jorge Deras, Champelle Collins, Josue Toledo, Graham McKinnon and Joshua Moore qualified to compete in the final round. Moore placed eighth overall and McKinnon placed 10th.

Gainesville State College honored students and faculty members at its annual Honors Day. More than 200 students were nominated for academic and service awards. The three top student awards went to:
Dwana Franks of Hiawassee, GSC Achievement Award; Anna Garrison of Lula, Outstanding Traditional Student Award; Terri Milburn of Flowery Branch, Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Award.
Faculty members who were honored include:
Ann Matthews Purdy, Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year; Andrew Thomas and Ann Matthews Purdy, Outstanding Full-Time Faculty Member of the Year; Tom Deitz and Ann Matthews Purdy, Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year. 
Regional events