By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news, March 19
Placeholder Image

If you have an award, good deed or other news you'd like to share with our readers, please submit your information to Please limit the number of photos you send to one. Sorry, we cannot guarantee when an item will run; due to the number of submissions, items run as space permits.

Isaac Hopkins of Gainesville High School was recognized at the Georgia Thespian Conference with the top scholarship of $2,500.

He was selected as Gainesville High School's Poetry Out Loud champion and took first place in region. He will go on to complete against 12 other students in the state finals March 31 in Atlanta.

Hopkins also claimed the title as region champion in dramatic interpretation in the Region 8AAA Literary meet.

Jane Davenport, speech language pathologist for Enota Multiple Intelligences Academy and Gainesville City Schools Special Education Preschool program, is a recipient of the 2012 Philip Wright Award.

Award recipients are selected by local school districts based upon their demonstration of service, respect and regard, advocacy and commitment to children with disabilities.

Lanier Elementary students Ethan Bowmar, Tyler Pieschke, Holly Mize, Elizabeth Eddins and Desiree Tanner participated in the Northeast Georgia District Social Studies Fair on Feb. 11 at Gainesville State College. Tanner's project advances to the Georgia Social Studies Fair on March 24 at Clayton State College and University.

On March 1, Georgia Middle School Level Future Business Leaders of America members competed at the FBLA State Conference in Macon.

Local students placing in the top three for their respective events were:

First place: Emma Alexandrov of West Hall Middle School;

Second place: Hunter Longley of C.W.

Davis Middle School.

Several students at White Sulphur Elementary were recently honored for leadership. Hall County Sheriff Steve Cronic came to White Sulphur to visit and thank the students. The students included: Ashyah Smith, Melissa Galvez, Tailyr Broome, Alexis Burce, Keriah Blackwell, Caliifornia Johnson, Hannah Oldrood and Kirstin Roper.

The "Odyssey of the Mind" Regional Tournament was held March 3 at C.W. Davis Middle School.

Of the 31 teams that competed from Hall County, 13 qualified for the upcoming "Odyssey of the Mind" state finals, which presents an opportunity to qualify for the world finals this summer. The teams were from:

Da Vinci Academy

C. W. Davis Middle School

Flowery Branch High School

Spouts Springs School of Enrichment

Johnson High School

Friendship Elementary

Spouts Springs School of Enrichment

"Odyssey of the Mind" is an international educational program that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college.