By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news, Feb. 14
Placeholder Image

Spelling bee winners for Gainesville Middle School were Daniel Co and Bailey Armour (alternate); Georgia Tran, Centennial Elementary; Julia Ferguson (alternate), Enota Elementary. Daniel Co will go on to represent Gainesville schools in Suwanee at Collins Hill High School on Feb 26.


The following students have been named to the dean's list for the fall semester at Samford University:

Corinne E. Dyer, Darby M. Jackson, Kevin P. Grasso and Sarah M. Waller, all of Gainesville; Lauren E. Pilcher and Whitney E. Williams of Flowery Branch and Meghan L. McCollum of Buford.

To qualify for the honor, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade-point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework. The dean's list is the highest academic recognition given by the school at the end of each semester.


Georgia Southern University recently recognized 887 students for excellence in academics on the 2010 fall semester president's list. To be eligible for the president's list, a student must have at least a 4.0 grade-point average and carry a minimum of 12 hours for the semester:

Elizabeth L. Agee, Michelle M. Gram, Meagan E. Hess, Johnny W. McLean, Rachael N. Parr, Christina J Phucas and Latoia N. Samson, all of Buford; Hannah B. Haggard and Kristina M. McFadden of Commerce; Travis T. Coxworth, Maylen N. Martin and Theresa M. Meloni, all of Flowery Branch; Zachary W. Hoffman and Shelby L. Pope of Gainesville; Elizabeth N. Simonton of Jefferson.


The following students earned the distinction of faculty honors for fall 2010 at the Georgia Institute of Technology. Undergraduate students earning a 4.00 academic average for the semester gain the distinction of Faculty Honors at Georgia Tech:

Jeremy Wetherford, Frank Norton, Hao Nguyen, Benjamin Klein, Bradley Keller, Taylor Hope and Parrish Brown, all of Gainesville; Juan Llanes and Riley Winton of Flowery Branch; Lindsey Nelms of Jefferson.

The following students made the dean's list for fall 2010 at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Daniel Miller and Nolan Alexander of Jefferson; Brian Waltman, Cecilia Pantoja, Emily Randall, Matthew Olson, Evelyn Murray, Brittani Matthews, Rebecca Lawrence, Raymond Davenport, David Claxton, Zachary Brewster, David Brannen, Bryan Boyer, Elif Alyanak and William Tsikerdanos, all of Gainesville; Jordan Stone, Suk Hyun Hahm, Melinda Dolphyn, Julian Forero, and Shauna Burnette, all of Buford; Jorge Nessi David Dudley, Michael Dreybus, Patrick Chua and John Bush, all of Hoschton; Jonathan Callura and Harmon Todd of Flowery Branch; Daniel Condon of Cleveland; Sarah Walker of Sautee Nacoochee.

Undergraduate students earning a 3.00 or higher academic average for the semester gain the distinction of being named to the dean's list at Georgia Tech.

Regional events