By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Fifth-grade students who received awards for their posters about Law Day were Jocey Flores, Cinthya Mendoza, Sam Terray, Jesus Perez, Michelle Nguyen and Kerelyn Rodriguez. They are pictured with their teacher, Beth Hester, and local attorney Carla J. Walker who also served as Law Day 2009 committee chairwoman. The theme for Law Day 2009 was "Lincoln's Legacy of Liberty."

Students at Enota Multiple Intelligences Academy in Gainesville recently celebrated Law Day by participating in a poster contest.  

The following students were named to the dean's list for the spring semester at the University of Georgia in Athens.

  • Amy Young and Dana Sawtell, both of Braselton;
  • Ghaffari Rashin, Jesse Smith, Melissa Harward, Patrick Turpin and Benjamin Conway, all of Hoschton;
  • Rebecca Marshburn of Homer;
  • Darya Adushkina of Dawsonville;
  • Ashley Rochester of Clarkesville;
  • Christinia Carson of Cornelia;
  • Joshhua Underwood and Christin Westmoreland of Mount Airy;
  • Tiffany Chong, Nie Jiang, Carey Miller, Andrew Van Tassel, Christine You, Tiffany Langseth and Patricia Andrews, all of Flowery Branch;
  • Mallory McCord, Brandon Boyer, James Butts, Jeremy Casper, Lindsey Cooper, Stephanie Davies, Charles Goforth, Jordan Harrison, Christopher Howard, Jared Hunt, Emory Johnson, Rebecca Justice, Brandon Morrow, Pana Perron, Kate Ritchie, Sara Skiles, Melanie Turner, Eric Burnette, John Shope, Dara Vaughan, Jessica Bell, Abby Denly, Taylor Evans, Elizabeth Hamilton, Rebekah Hunt, Janna Jones, Jessica Lee, Kirby Lee, Andrew May, Krista Palmer, Elizabeth Sheldon, Dorothy Smorey, Ashton Townsend, Todd Bentleya and Jeffrey Hendricks, all of Gainesville;
  • Tierney Cosgrove and Rebecca Calvert, both of Lula;
  • Whitney Homans and Katelyn Parks, both of Murrayville;
  • Toni Aloi and Graham Hanson, both of Oakwood;
  • Amanda Stephens, Tori Mims, Karen Slappey, Whitney Vinson, Crystal Freier, Erica Lemus, Brandon Smith, Christopher Gurley and John Brust, all of Jefferson;
  • Adrienne Cloud of Maysville;
  • Nathan McClure and Michael Cochenour, both of Dahlonega;
  • Ashley Snyder and Kate Peterson, both of Blairsville;
  • and Hillary Kinsey, Sidney Fuller and Chelsea Nix, all of Cleveland.

Abigail Brown of Lula recently was named to the president's honor roll at Catawba College in Sailsbury, N.Y. To be named to the honor roll, students must earn a 3.7 grade-point average in 30 hours of coursework.

Regional events