By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Placeholder Image

A total of 196 students received degrees from North Georgia College & State University in summer graduation exercises held on the university's Dahlonega campus.

With more than 6,000 students, NGCSU maintains one of the highest graduation rates in the state's university system. Founded in 1873, North Georgia is the second-oldest public institution of higher learning in Georgia.

Area students receiving degrees were:

Banks County: James Christopher Bray, Baldwin; Robert Clark Williams, Maysville.

Dawson County: Donna Lynn Sanders, Burt Thomas Casarella, Candice B. Nelson, Jennifer Elizabeth Brinson, Rhonda Cravey Bennett, Michelle Christine Stahl, Lindsey Michelle Radcliff and Chelsea Suzanne Armour, all of Dawsonville.

Gwinnett County: David Tyler Hill, Andre G. Morgan, Angela Marie Lewis and Jacqueline Marie Huber, all of Buford.

Habersham County: Virginia Boyd Grantham, Payal Ramesh Patel and Megan Marie Teague, all of Clarkesville; Megan Elizabeth Crawford, Cornelia; Brandon Joel Patrum, Mount Airy; Benjamin Lane West, Demorest.

Hall County: Kathryn Diana Bradley, Brittany Rose Pharris, Tara Jane Webber, Samuel J. Harbison, Adam Allen Powell, Katherine Lynn Carter, Brenna Kathleen Finlayson, Callie Owen Levitt, Joel Adam Webb, Moises Arnoldo Cespedes, Ashley Greer Holbrooks, Guadalupe Cecilia Zaragoza, Brooke Erin Arroliga, Stephen Blake Podsen, Mary Katherine Clark, Fatinah Smith-Almodovar, Amelia Martha Herb, Kevin Todd Samples, Maureen Elizabeth Webb, Marshall D. Ridarick, Christopher David Warren, all of Gainesville;

Matthew Aaron Goodall, Linda Diane Baugh, Kendra LeAnn Ramey, Lauren Ward Williams, William Earl Barefoot, Tony Everett Shewbert, Lynn Anderson Edwards, Theresa Sue Dye and Nathan Joseph Wolf, all of Flowery Branch;

Thomas Newton Epps, Joshua Sean Masker, Murrayville; Aaron Nathan Cohen, Joel Mark Helms, Oakwood; Adrianne Marie Phagan, Clermont.

Jackson County: Erin Diana Black, Braselton; Kenneth Alexander Ruiz, Pendergrass; Sarah Nicole Whitbeck, Hoschton; Amanda Brittany Waindle, Jefferson.

Lumpkin County: Wendy Melissa Jablonski, Brittany Mary Nicole Pruitt, Katherine Ashley Garner, Justin Matthew Ehlers, Samantha Jo Chamberlin, Joseph Michael Robinson, Alicia Farrell Anderson, Noelle Elizabeth Tompkins, Jessica Lauren Gooch, Michelle Leigh Moses, Anthony N. Kirkover, Eliseo Alvarez, Charity Satira Cagle, Ashlie Rae Eason, Joseph Douglas Shelnutt, Kaylee Alyssa Varney, James Christopher Wilkes, William Kyle Newman, Damian A. Melville, Stacey Lee Ferris, Brandon John Phillips, all of Dahlonega.

Rabun County: Jessica Michelle Garner, Clayton.

Union County: Sabrina Michele Ledford, Felicia Annette Smith, both of Blairsville; Rhonda Elaine Adams, Kelly Ann Davis, both of Suches.

White County: Autumn Lee Kinsey, Charles A. Meggitt, Leighanne Marie Edwards and Danielle Marie Sosebee, all of Cleveland.


The Gainesville High School marching band, the Big Red Machine, earned the Sweepstakes Award for posting the highest scores in all categories at the Lake Hartwell Marching Band Festival Oct. 16 at Hart County High School.

The Big Red Machine earned high scores in all categories, including Superior Band, Superior Drum Majors, Superior Majorettes, Superior Dance Team, Superior Color Guard and Superior Percussion.

Pam Ware, director of the Gainesville High School Theatre Department, was honored at the Georgia Theatre Conference held the weekend of Oct. 16-17 at Armstrong Atlantic State University in Savannah. Ware earned the highest award, The Leighton Ballew Award for Distinguished Service, as a theater educator in Georgia.



Regional events