Hall County students return to in-person school next week
Students in the Hall County system, excluding those who elected to take online school, will return to in-person class for all five days next week, beginning Monday, Jan. 25.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Mario Rodriguez and Tyler Williams, members of Flowery Branch High School’s junior varsity academic team, recently won the 2010 Georgia Academic Association’s AAA state tournament. The students will now compete in the national competition in June.

The following area students have been named to the dean’s list at Young Harris College in Young Harris. To achieve this honor, students must achieve a 3.5 GPA or higher.
Kendra Lynne Cowart of Murrayville, Nathan Grogan Strong, Samuel Edward Allen, Raquel Artemisa Jasso and Lauren Victoria (Tori) Gillespie of Gainesville, Ryan Nicholas Bender of Braselton and Mary Kathryn Marlowe of Clermont.

North Hall High School recently celebrated academic achievement and perfect attendance for 824 students during an Olympic-themed rally.
Principal Joe Gheesling led the opening ceremonies and then awarded 29 students a platinum award for achieving a 4.5 GPA, 164 students a gold award for receiving all A’s, 313 students a silver award for having all A’s and B’s, and 297 students received a bronze award for passing all subjects.
All students who received academic awards were also required to have five or fewer absences, check-ins and check-outs during the first semester, along with having no In-school or out-of-school suspensions.
There also were 21 students who achieved perfect attendance.
In addition to student awards, five teachers received the I Inspire Awards, voted on by students. The I Inspire Platinum Trophy was awarded to Kerry Whitlock, the gold went to Jeff Chandler, the silver went to Brenda Barger — who has earned the trophy for five consecutive rallies — and the bronze went to Suzanne Haynes. Teacher Ronny Turpin was the recipient of the Hero Award.
Classes also competed in The Snow Pie Game, the Limbo Contest and Bobsled Racing, with the senior class emerging the winner of the School Spirit Stick. The Swim Team was crowned as the smartest team on campus for winter sports.

The following Buford residents were recently named to the dean’s list at North Georgia College & State University in Dahlonega for the fall 2009 semester: Lauren Quinn, Brittany Fouquette, Courtney McWhorter, Ashton Buchanan, Ashton Simpson, Holly Renner, Alexander Sweatt, Shawn Cooper, Jessica Head, Mindy Ketchem, Meredith Cash, Amy Marsingill, Danielle Alexander, Lauren Martin, Beau Martin, Kirklan Moore, Staci Nix, Jasmine Griffith, Derek Parets and Laurie Brazzell.


Flowery Branch High School’s junior varsity academic team recently won the 2010 Georgia Academic Association’s AAA state tournament. This is the third consecutive year the JV team has won the state championship.
The recent win has qualified the team to compete at the National Academic Association’s national competition June 4-6 in Washington D.C. The team is coached by Terri Barker and Joan Grindle.

Regional events