By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
District nominates students for Governors Honors Program
Placeholder Image

Hall County School District nominated 50 students to the state level interviews for the 2014 Georgia Governor’s Honors Program.

The Governor’s Honors Program, known as GHP, is a residential summer program for gifted and talented high school juniors and seniors. Managed by the Governor’s Office for Student Achievement, it takes place on the campus of Valdosta State University. The 2014 program will be the 51st summer, making it the longest continually running program of its kind in the nation.

More than 2,900 students from across the state are being interviewed for three weekends in January and February. From those nominees up to 690 finalists — one-fourth of 1 percent of eligible sophomores and juniors in the state — will be chosen to participate in the 2014 program. Since the program is fully funded by the Georgia General Assembly, students attend for free.

During the four-week program, students spend the morning in their major area of nomination exploring topics not usually found in the regular high school classroom. During the afternoons, students choose one of the other areas to study. The curriculum in is challenging and engaging. Evenings are filled with seminars, activities, concerts and performances.

“GHP is such a competitive program that even being nominated at the school level is a tremendous accomplishment,” said Sally Krisel, Hall County’s director of innovative and advanced programs. “I congratulate all of the outstanding students who were nominated. I know these 50 will represent the district well at the statewide interviews.”

Hall County School District’s nominees for the 2014 Georgia Governor’s Honors Program are:

Chestatee High School:

Tyler Hooper and Fiona Hare in theatre performance

Danielle Richey (alto) in music/voice

Madisen Mayfield in executive management

Andrew Hathcock, Luke Passmore and David Lawson, all in Mathematics

Nada Osman and Kayla Krauth, both in communicative arts

Koey Leverette in social studies

Rushir Parikh in technology

Christofer Zepeda in biology

Flowery Branch High School:

Matthew Antoci in theatre performance

Emily Gilliam in dance

Tyler Johnson in design

Collin Beck in physics

Sydney Little in mathematics

Kelsey McQueen and Hannah McQueen in social studies

Nicole Morris in chemistry

East Hall:

Grayze Sepe in music/brass (trumpet)

Melanie Raper in music/woodwinds (oboe)

Elliott Andrade in music/brass (French horn)

Emily Harris (alto) and Julie Fowler (soprano), both in music/voice

Noah Jenkins and Alena Hatfield, both in visual arts

Khian Skidmore and Amber Tyner, both in executive management

Johnson High School:

Emily Combs in theatre performance

Omar Hernandez and Kayla Key, both in music/woodwinds (flute)

Jacob Frier in theatre design

Jair Portillo in music/percussion

Robert Iannuzzi in Spanish

Jissel Becerra Reyes in communicative arts

North Hall High School:

Tucker Buffington in theatre performance

Tyler Truelove in music/jazz (electric bass)

Natalie Black in music/woodwinds (flute)

Emily Frederick, Abigail Sartain and Grace Miller-Bell, all in theatre performance

Zachary Alexander in executive management

West Hall High School:

Allison Compton and Jake Thompson, both in theatre performance

Nicholas Lofton, Amberleigh Reyes and Kinsey Poland, all in social studies

Kinsey Huckabey in Spanish

Jose Garcia in chemistry

Regional events