By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Payne, Watson receive top awards at GHS banquet
Placeholder Image

Gainesville’s Fred Payne and Deshaun Watson received outstanding team member awards Thursday night at the school’s annual football awards banquet.

Payne received the Paul Gilbert Most Outstanding Character and Leadership award, and Watson was named the Bobby Gruhn Most Valuable Player of the Year.

Watson finished the season 305 of 434 passing with 4,021 yards and 50 touchdowns. He also added 1,430 rushing yards and 24 rushing touchdowns. Payne led the Red Elephants’ defense with 121 tackles, seven tackles for a loss, eight pass break-ups, four interceptions and a pair of fumble recoveries.

Payne was also named the team Defensive Back of the Year.

The pair led the team to their first Class AAAAA state championship in the fall and earned All-State honors.

Gainesville High 2012 Football Awards

JV Offensive Player of Year, Mikey Gonzalez

JV Defensive Player of Year, Kash Jones

Scout Team Offensive Player of Year, Terrell Hendrix

Scout Team Defensive Player of Year, Chris Byrd

Cy Bell Hustle Award, Neil Pavao

Durward Pennington Special Teams Player of Year, Gage Turner

Fellowship Christian Athlete of the Year, Neil Pavao

Defensive Lineman of the Year, Damian Grayson

Lance Roland Linebacker of the Year, Devan Stringer

Defensive Back of the Year, Fred Payne

Offensive Lineman of the Year, Chase England

Receiver of the Year, Caleb Hayman

Offensive Back of the Year, Michael Byrd and Rodney Lackey

Chris Mance Most Improved Player of Year, Jack Cumiskey and Jay Gaudlock

Paul Gilbert Outstanding Character and Leadership, Fred Payne

Bobby Gruhn Most Valuable Player of the Year, Deshaun Watson

Friends to Follow social media