By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Gainesville grad and former major leaguer Micah Owings eager to embark on second season managing Gainesville Braves
Summer league team, comprised on college baseball players, open season Monday at Ivey-Watson Field
Gainesville Braves
University of Georgia pitcher Jonathan Cannon warms up for the Gainesville Braves with manager Micah Owings, right, looking on prior to a 2020 scrimmage at Chestatee High.

The Gainesville Braves are set to begin their 28-game season Monday at Ivey-Watson Baseball Complex in Gainesville against the Waleska Wild Things. 

The Braves compete in the eight-team Sunbelt League against the Alpharetta Aviators, Atlanta Crackers, Brookhaven Bucks, Columbus Chatt-a-Hoots, Gwinnett Astros, Marietta Patriots and Waleska Wild Things.

The Braves are coached by Gainesville High graduate and former big league pitcher Micah Owings. The club first played in 2020 but was hampered with COVID-19 restrictions. 

In 2021, Owings has a roster with many former Hall County standouts, all now playing in college. 

Some include Zander Sechrist (Flowery Branch), Joe Sutton and Caleb Carter (Chestatee), Charlie Erickson and Jackson Dyer (North Hall), Carter Lott (West Hall), Sam Stewart (Lakeview Academy), Zach Valentine and Harris Bell (Gainesville)

2021 Gainesville Braves Roster:

10 Jarrett Burney, Reinhardt College, 3B/2B, North Gwinnett HS

44 Ryland Goede, UGA, 1B/DH, Kennesaw Mountain HS

Danny Lynch, Southern Mississippi, 3B, Dwyer HS (Florida)

29 Will Mangurian, Orange Coastal, JUCO 1B/OF, Johns Creek HS

2 William Mapes, UNG/Mercer, SS/2B, Mount Pisgah HS

14 Joe Sutton, Georgia Highlands/South Alabama, SS/2B/3B, Chestatee HS

1 Caleb Carter, Georgia Highlands, OF/2B, Chestatee HS

18 Carson Paetow, Southern Miss, OF, Vancleave HS (Miss.)

3 Hudson Sapp, Ole Miss, OF, Dawsonville HS

33 Josh Shuler, South Carolina, DH, North Gwinnett HS

21 Nick Tanner, Georgia Gwinnett, OF, Lanier HS

7 Reed Trimble, Southern Mississippi, OF, North Western Rankin (Miss.)

6 John Carter, University of Sewanee, C/1B, Stratford Academy

12 Charlie Erickson, LaGrange, C/UTIL, North Hall

8 Carter Lott, Georgia Highlands/Middle Georgia, C, West Hall

17 Sam Stewart, Mercer, C, Lakeview Academy

Julian Aguilar, University of Tennessee, RHP, Milikan HS (Calif.)

9 Harris Bell, Delta State, RHP, Gainesville HS

30 Jackson Dyer, Georgia Southern, LHP, North Hall HS

11 Tucker Daniel, Young Harris, RHP, North Forsyth HS

31 Robert Hamby, Georgia Gwinnett, RHP, Lakeview Academy

4 Halton Hardy, Francis Marion, RHP, East Jackson HS

24 Jackson Hodnick, St. Johns River, RHP, Greenbrier HS

20 Peyton Irvin, Piedmont College, RHP, Habersham Central HS

19 Aiden McSherry, Young Harris, RHP, Blessed Trinity HS

7 Hudson Sapp, Ole Mis, LHP, Dawsonville HS

27 Zander Sechrist, University of Tennessee, LHP, Flowery Branch HS

23 Will Shirah, Georgia Tech, LHP, Fannin County HS

21 Nick Tanner, Georgia Gwinnett, RHP, Lanier HS

13 Zach Valentine, Georgia Highlands, RHP, Gainesville HS

45 Blake Wehunt, Southern Mississippi, RHP, Franklin County HS

2021 Gainesville Braves Coaches:

Rick Clark, Owner

Micah Owings, Manager

Cris Carpenter, Pitching Coach

Sam Carpenter, Pitching Coach

Nelson Ward, Hitting/Infield Coach

2021 Gainesville Braves Schedule:

*Wild Things at Braves Mon, Jun 7, 7:05 PM

Braves at Wild Things Wed, Jun 9, 7:05 PM

*Astros at Braves Fri, Jun 11, 7:05 PM

Braves at Astros Sat, Jun 12, 7:05 PM

*Crackers at Braves Mon, Jun 14, 7:05 PM

Braves at Crackers Wed, Jun 16, 7:05 PM

Braves at Chatt-a-Hoots Fri, Jun 18, 7:05 PM

Braves at Chatt-a-Hoots Sat, Jun 19, 6:00 PM

Braves at Patriots Mon, Jun 21, 7:05 PM

*Patriots at Braves Wed, Jun 23, 7:05 PM

Braves at Bucks Fri, Jun 25, 6:30 PM

*Bucks at Braves Sat, Jun 26, 7:05 PM

*Aviators at Braves Mon, Jun 28, 7:05 PM

Braves at Aviators Wed, Jun 30, 7:05 PM

Braves at Wild Things Fri, Jul 2, 7:05 PM

*Wild Things at Braves Sat, Jul 3, 7:05 PM

*Astros at Braves Mon, Jul 5, 7:05 PM

Braves at Astros Wed, Jul 7, 7:05 PM

Braves at Crackers Fri, Jul 9, 7:05 PM

*Crackers at Braves Sat, Jul 10, 7:05 PM

*Patriots at Braves Fri, Jul 16, 7:05 PM

Braves at Patriots Sat, Jul 17, 7:05 PM

Braves at Bucks Mon, Jul 19, 6:30 PM

*Bucks at Braves Wed, Jul 21, 7:05 PM

Braves at Aviators Fri, Jul 23, 7:05 PM

*Aviators at Braves Sat, Jul 24, 7:05 PM

*Chatt-a-Hoots at Braves Mon, Jul 26, 7:05 PM

*Chatt-a-Hoots at Braves Wed, Jul 28, 7:05 PM

    Regional events