By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
The Local Agenda: Georgia's senators introduce Fair Tax Act of 2015
Placeholder Image

Georgia Republican U.S. Sens. David Perdue and Johnny Isakson recently introduced the Fair Tax Act of 2015, which seeks to eliminate income taxes, abolish the Internal Revenue Service and enact a national sales tax.

“Our tax code is a burden on families and a drain on small businesses,” Isakson, a member of the Senate Finance Committee, said in a statement. “Moving to the kind of system outlined in the Fair Tax of 2015 is a no-brainer. It’s time that we simplify our tax code, abolish the IRS, and create a more simple way to pay your fair share.”

The proposed legislation piggybacks on efforts by Republican lawmakers at the state level to cap and, ultimately, zero out income taxes.

Lt. Gov. Casey Cagle, R-Gainesville, and state Sen. Butch Miller, R-Gainesville, have both said they support replacing income taxes with higher sales and consumption taxes.

The Fair Tax Act of 2015 would repeal all federal personal income taxes, corporate income taxes, payroll taxes, self-employment taxes, capital gains taxes and gift and estate taxes.

“In order for America’s economy to thrive in today’s international economy, we must remain competitive,” Perdue said in a statement. “Instituting the Fair Tax will level the playing field and make America the best place in the world to do business.”

Meanwhile, President Barack Obama said last week in his State of the Union address he wants to overhaul the federal tax system.

Obama said he wants to raise taxes on the wealthy via higher rates on capital gains investment income to pay for middle-class tax credits and free community college to students who qualify.

State House committee assignments unveiled

The Georgia House of Representatives has announced its 2015 committee assignments for members.

Hall County’s four Republican representatives will serve on everything from budget and health committees to education and parks committees.

Emory Dunahoo is a member of the Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Banks & Banking, Game, Fish & Parks, and Information and Audits committees. He also is vice chairman of the State Properties Committee.

Timothy Barr is a member of the Appropriations, Code Revision, Health & Human Services, Motor Vehicles and Natural Resources & Environment committees.

Lee Hawkins is a member of the Appropriations, Health & Human Services, Insurance and Regulated Industries committees.

Finally, Carl Rogers is a member of the Appropriations, Insurance and Rules committees. He also is the chairman of the Higher Education committee.

Hall tax commissioner named to technology development council

Hall County Tax Commissioner Darla Eden was recently elected to the Board of the Tax Commissioners’ Technology Development Council of Georgia, better known as TCTECH.

Founded in 1999, TCTECH provides tax commissioners with a platform to share information regarding technology-related issues that will enhance customer and staff experience.

“I am extremely honored to be part of this board,” Eden said in a statement. “In the past two years, our office has made great strides by introducing and implementing inexpensive technology to improve efficiency and provide great service to our residents.”

Eden said TCTECH also encourages the creation of paperless work environments and progressive management.

Eden said she uses social media to help save taxpayers money, including on Facebook and Twitter (@taxhallcounty). Both websites are used to share the office’s latest information, deadlines, current lobby times and news releases.

Joshua Silavent covers government issues for The Times. Share your thoughts, news tips and questions with him: