By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
No one qualifies, so Gillsville will appoint council member
Placeholder Image

Dawson County might consolidate precincts 

Coming Saturday

In Saturday’s edition, The Times will have a complete wrap up of who qualified for municipal seats across Northeast Georgia, including Hall, Banks, Habersham, Dawson, Jackson, Lumpkin and White counties.

Election 2009

What: Municipal elections for cities in Hall and nearby counties
Voter registration deadline: Oct. 5
Election Day: Nov. 3
Runoff: Dec. 1, if needed
More information: Hall County Elections Office, 2285 Browns Bridge Road, 770-531-6945.
Secretary of State’s office poll locator

After nobody qualified for the Post 2 council seat in Gillsville, Mayor Larry Poole said the council will appoint someone to fill the seat in January.

Poole said he doesn’t believe this has ever happened in Gillsville.

"In short, we have researched this thing at every angle we could through the city charter and any other relevant documentation, and it appears this specific situation isn’t covered. We can’t find anywhere where it references there being no one who has signed up for a seat," he said.

Poole said the situation will be handled like a vacancy on the City Council.

"As of Jan. 1 of next year, Post 2 will become a vacant seat," Poole said. "The City Council right now plans to consider candidates and make an appointment."

Qualifiers on Wednesday in area municipal contests included:

The Lula City Council will have two contested races this year. Paul Cox qualified to run against incumbent Mayor Milton Turner for his seat. Councilwoman Vicky Chambers will face competition for her Post 2 seat from Bruce Lane.

In Clermont, two current City Council members qualified. Mayor James Nix and Councilman James "Sonny" Helton will seek re-election.

Qualifying wraps up today in towns across Northeast Georgia.