By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Voting set for legislative seats
Vacancies are in state Senate District 50 and state House districts 25 and 10
Placeholder Image

Gov. Nathan Deal set special elections for Nov. 8 for three open Northeast Georgia seats in the state legislature.

Vacancies exist in state Senate District 50 and state House districts 25 and 10. Senate District 50 covers Banks, Habersham, Towns and a small eastern portion of White County. House District 25 covers a southern portion of Hall County. House District 10 covers Habersham County and a southeastern portion of White County.

Sen. Jim Butterworth, who represented District 50, was named in early September as the Georgia National Guard's adjutant general.

Rep. James Mills resigned from representing District 25 in the House and was named Thursday to the state Pardons and Paroles board.

Rep. Rick Austin resigned his seat in District 10 to run for the open seat in District 50, both of which cover portions of Habersham County, where he resides.

Secretary of State Brian Kemp set qualifying for 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 3, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Oct. 4 and 8 a.m. to noon Oct. 5.

Candidates must qualify in the Elections Division of the Office of Secretary of State, 802 West Tower, 2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive SE, Atlanta. The fee is $400.

There will be no party primaries, though party affiliation will be listed on the ballot. If needed, runoff elections would be held Dec. 6.

Citizens must be registered to vote by Oct. 11 to participate in the Nov. 8 special election.

Voter registration forms can be obtained at any county registrar's office or from the secretary of state's website,

Regional events