By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Habersham County: Runoff set in Clarkesville council race
Placeholder Image

Habersham County cities held their municipal elections Tuesday, with one race still scheduled to be decided in a runoff. 

• In Clarkesville, there will be a runoff for the one contested city council seat. Tommy Burgess earned 53 vote and Becky Sandven got 47, besting Robert R. Aycock with 45 and Cadman Robb Kiker III with 13.

Burgess and Sandven will meet in a runoff Dec. 1. In all, 164 out of 750 registered voters cast ballots in the city, a 21.8 percent turnout.

Voters approved a referendum to allow sales of liquor by the drink by a count of 109-54.

• In Baldwin, Jerry R. Neace was elected mayor, besting incumbent Mike Kelley by a 118-95 vote count.

Jeff D. Parrish won the Post 4 City Council seat with 131 votes to 80 for Michael Parker. Robert Bohannon was chosen the Post 5 council member, besting Mark Reed 11 votes to 96.

• In Cornelia, Ernie Garrett defeated Janice Griggs in race for Ward 2 Commissioner, 39 votes to 17.

• In Demorest, only four votes separated the top contenders in a four-way race for two at-large city council seats. Florence Wikle earned 73 votes, Bruce Harkness had 69, incumbent Perry Hendrix had 65 and Junior Stephens earned 57. Incumbent mayor Malcolm Hunnicutt was re-elected without opposition.

• In Mount Airy, incumbents Ray McAllister and Bobby Ayers won two at-large seats. McAllister had 68 votes, Ayers 50 and challenger Cynthia Tyler had 28.
Friends to Follow social media