By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Clermont could have hard time doing business come Jan. 1
Special election set for March 1 to fill 2 Council seats
From left, Clermont Town Council members Kristi Crumpton and Seth Weaver and Mayor James Nix talk during Monday's Clermont Council meeting.

Clermont may have little wiggle room to conduct town business between Jan. 1 and March 1, when the North Hall County town holds a special election to fill two council seats.

The council has five seats but just four members currently, and it loses one of the four, John Brady, after his four-year term ends Dec. 31.

Under the town’s charter, revised earlier this year by the General Assembly, the council needs at least three members to hold a meeting, let alone vote.

But a meeting also can be held with two members and the mayor, Mayor James Nix said Tuesday.

He said he would have to study what it takes to pass a measure with a majority vote.

“I have to get (the charter) back out and go through it,” Nix said. “I think we can (move forward) with three council members, maybe even two.”

Two council members were present Tuesday night, along with Nix, as the council held its first reading on an ordinance setting the March 1 special election to replace Joe McGoogan, who died two days after winning the Nov. 3 election.

McGoogan was set to replace Lynn Adams, who resigned from her at-large seat earlier in the year.

Final OK of the ordinance is set for the council’s Dec. 1 meeting.

The council already had set a March 1 special election to replace Brady after no candidates qualified to vie for his seat in the Nov. 3 election. Brady chose not to seek re-election to a four-year term.

Qualifying for Brady’s Ward 2 seat and the at-large seat is now set for Jan. 11-13 at Town Hall, 109 King St. The fee for both is $43.20.

Voting will take place 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. March 1 at Concord Baptist Church, 640 Main St.

The Ward 2 term would begin March 7 and end Dec. 31, 2019. The at-large winner’s term would begin March 7 and end Dec. 31, 2017.

Incumbent councilmen Eric Thomas and Seth Weaver were unopposed in the Nov. 3 elections and will begin new four-year terms Jan. 1.

Regional events