By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2018 Grady Young Foundation scholarship winners announced
06152018 COMMUNITY GYF Scholarship Nina Johnson
Nina Johnson
The Grady Young Foundation Inc. has announced its 2018 scholarship recipients, awarding $7,500 to 10 students.

The foundation has now awarded 175 scholarships in its 15 years.

The group thanked the Gainesville/Hall County area and other related communities “for your generous contributions that have helped to make the presentations of these scholarships possible. Next year, we look forward to even more participation” it said in a press release.

Scholarship winners were:

Caroline Odum (Grady Young Memorial Scholarship, GYF Book Scholarship), Johnson High

Erianna Hammond (Eloise Young Memorial Scholarship), Western Branch High, Chesapeake, Va.

Monique Wint (Irene Y. Johnson Memorial Scholarship), A.E. Beach High, Savannah

Nina Johnson (Marie Y. Johnson Memorial Scholarship), Wheeler High, Marietta

Tyrone Goss (Gaynell B.Y. Williams Memorial Scholarship, GYF Book Scholarship), Gainesville High

Austin Edwards (Marion “Paulette” Lott Memorial Scholarship), Buford High

Larika Hooks (Gerald F. Kesler Memorial Scholarship), Alexander High, Douglasville

Wanquavious Butler (Jacob Wilmont Community Athletic Scholarship, GYF Book Scholarship), East Hall High

Parvathi Kumar (Estelle Mosley Young Jackson Memorial Book Scholarship), Brookwood High, Snellville

Jaylan Strickland (GYF Incentive Award Scholarship), Buford High

Regional events