By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School news
Placeholder Image

Ava Goble earned dean’s list honors for the 2010-11 academic year at New York University.

The following students were named to the spring 2011 dean’s list at Armstrong Atlantic State University:

Flowery Branch:

Brandon Camp, Kristen Holmes, Sybil Hill;


Caleb Richards;


Destiny Budd.

In order to make the dean’s list, students must be enrolled in at least nine semester hours of course work and earn a grade-point average of at least 3.6.

Gainesville High School’s Cody J. Stephens has been designated a semifinalist in the 48th annual National Achievement Scholarship Program were announced by National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

Stephens now has an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 800 Achievement Scholarship awards worth more than $2.4 million to be offered next spring.

To be considered for a National Achievement Scholarship, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 80 percent of semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win an Achievement Scholarship award.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program, is a privately financed academic competition that operates without government assistance. To date, more than 31,100 young men and women have received Achievement Scholarship awards worth more than $98 million.

Kathleen McManus

of Gainesville recently graduated from the University of Georgia as Doctor of Pharmacy, cum laude. She received her B.A. in Accounting from Michigan State University in 1979 and M.B.A. in Finance from Western Michigan University. She is married to Timothy Howell of Gainesville State College.