By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School News
0404SCHOOL NEWS scouts
Hall County Master Gardners Sandi Cantel and April Macleod helped supervise Cub Scout Pack No. 204 to create a nature walking trail for Flowery Branch Elementary School.

The Muro Pharmaceuticals Scholarship Award was presented to Gainesville resident Namhee Kwak during award ceremonies held at Northeastern University's Bouve College of Health Sciences in Boston.

The award was established in 1974 by the late Samuel Rosenberg, then president of Muro Pharmaceuticals. It is presented to a deserving student in the last three years of the pharmacy program. Selection is based upon academic standing and financial need.



Lakeview Academy's Literary team won the Class A State Literary Championship on March 19 in Warner Robins. Lakeview students won first or second place in every event they entered. Jarrod Beck earned the State Class A Championship title in Dramatic Interpretation and Reid Atherton in Boy's Solo. Earning second were Sahara Calderhead in Girl's Solo, Mac Sims in Extemporaneous Speaking; and Walker Adams, Reid Atherton, Geoffrey Cole and Kyle Lewis in Boy's Quartet.



Dhruv Gaur, a sixth-grader at Lakeview Academy, placed sixth recently while representing his school and the Georgia Association of Independent Schools at the Georgia Association of Educators State Belling Bee at Georgia State University.

Dhruv survived 17 rounds against 19 other spellers. He is the son of Drs. Abhishek and Swati Gaur.


The Georgia Southern chapter of Phi Eta Sigma initiated several students from Northeast Georgia. Phi Eta Sigma is a national honor society for college freshmen whose goal is to recognize and promote academic and service excellence among first-year students.

To be eligible for membership, initiates had to earn at minimum GPA of 3.6.

Local students initiated included Madeline Dale, Tereion Heath, Johnny McLean, Lyndi Moore, Rachael Parr, Eric Rumney, Christina Phucas and Meagan Hess of Buford; Jordan Frazier of Hoschton; Hannah Haggard, Jordan Lord and Peyton Maddox of Commerce; and Shelby Pope of Gainesville.



Regional events