By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
School News
Daniel A. Arenas

A total of 199 students earned academic recognition at Gainesville State College during summer semester by making the President's List, Dean's List or Merit List.

To earn a place on the President's List, a student must attain a 4.0 grade-point average with a minimum of 15 semester hours of academic work in one semester. To qualify for the Dean's List, a student must attain a 3.5 or higher GPA with 15 semester credit hours. For Merit List, a student must attain a 3.5 or higher GPA with 10-15 credit hours.

Students from Northeast Georgia who achieved these honors include the following:

Alto, Caitlyn Kennedy Scofield (Merit); Baldwin, Erica Elizabeth White (Merit); Braselton, Kathryn Elizabeth Forman (Merit); Buford, Abedur Reza Chowdhury (Dean's), Alexander Blake Shiver (Dean's), Tiffany L Braswell (Merit), Natalie Michele Brown (Merit), Liliana Colin (Merit), Joanna Elizabeth Lange (Merit), Amy Frady Reed (Merit); Clarkesville, Barrett Ray Sales (Merit);

Clayton, Karen Marie Brown (Merit); Cleveland, Colleen Nicole Edwards (Merit), Raleigh Keith Krigbaum (Merit); Commerce, Crystal M. Cruz (Merit), Kristy Lynn Shipp (Merit), Christopher Lee Wilson (Merit); Cornelia, Bonnie Jo Foster (Merit); Dahlonega, Shay Alyssa Dickerson (Merit), James Emory Fitzgerald (Merit), Kimberly Kay Schlom (Merit), Justin Alexander Williams (Merit), Lisa Renee Wimpy (Merit); Dawsonville, Carolanne Ruby Parker (Dean's), Katie Shelby Denham (Merit), Zachary Fletcher Thomas (Merit); Demorest, Cari Elizabeth Pitts (Merit);

Flowery Branch, Daniel Robert Kroeger (President's), Christopher Steven Milton (President's), Kayla Leanne Cleveland (Dean's), Lisa Virginia Cunningham (Merit), Nadezda Davis (Merit), Charles Wesley Durham (Merit), Joshua Gerardo Moncada (Merit), Erik Allistair Nore (Merit), Logan Alan Smith (Merit), Sarah Elizabeth Stowe (Merit), Janice Hewitt Trowers (Merit)

Gainesville, Benjamin Kader Phillips (Dean's), Mindi N Allison (Merit), Phillip Hoskins Blythe (Merit), Tiffany Nichole Bockholt (Merit), Deloris Sorsdahl Broom (Merit), Rebekah Clara Byrd (Merit), Alma Guadalupe Castaneda (Merit), Kerri D Clapsadle (Merit), Raymond Dallas Clapsadle (Merit), Tran Hoang Dang (Merit), Alisha R Dover (Merit), Mason Montgomery Dula (Merit), Anthony Leon Evans (Merit), Joseph Thomas Fic (Merit), Marlen E. Gonzales (Merit), Karen Darlene Hamby (Merit), Nicholas Steven Hill (Merit), Nicholas Robert Hisey (Merit), Kaycee Renae Holbrooks (Merit), Danielle Lynn Hutchison (Merit), Alex J. Jaume (Merit), Anderson Ebai Kajang (Merit), Caroline Elaine Larson (Merit), Laura Christine Malone (Merit), Ashley Taylor McGraw (Merit), Elida Robelsy Moctezuma (Merit), Ahmed Ali Mostafa (Merit), Angela G Nelms (Merit), Joni Marie Quinlan (Merit), Carrie Lauren Raizes (Merit), Rene Razo (Merit), Mary Carmen Rizo-Fonseca (Merit), Maria Cristina Rodriguez (Merit), Robert Trippe Ross (Merit), Daisy Griselda Ruiz (Merit), Sutton Lewis Shirley (Merit), Richard Jeff Skarda (Merit), Jessica Brooke Smith (Merit), Yuri Rene Vidal (Merit), Emily Carolyn Whitmire (Merit);

Gillsville, John Edward Luecke (Merit), Hiawassee Bethany Dawn Barrett (Merit); Homer Amanda Nicole Logan (Merit), Cassie Lynn Reed (Merit), Tracie Lynn Ruark (Merit); Hoschton, Kimberly Stinchcomb Butler (Merit), Patricia Marie Cole (Merit), Claire Patricia Collin (Merit), Caroline Ann Kiger (Merit); Jefferson, Diana Guadalupe Flores (Merit), Sean Michael Herrin (Merit), Lillian Burwell Mulvey (Merit), Jessica Ann Robinson (Merit); Lula, Jordan Roy Loggins (Merit), William Blake Thomas (Merit);

Mount Airy, Lindsay Helene Cooper (Merit); Oakwood, Lillie Hamilton Jackson (Merit), Yea J Kim (Merit), David Brent Smith (Merit); Pendergrass, Gregory Dettmer (Dean's), Danielle Marie Sablock (Merit); Talmo, Sara C Goodwin (Merit).



A group of 13 students and five adults from East Hall Middle School helped clean up Flat Creek in Oakwood on Sept. 25. This group was a small part of the stream cleanup organized by Rivers Alive.

Everyone gathered at the Gainesville Water Reclamation Facility and scoured different parts of the creek. One group removed 10 car tires and more than eight bags of garbage from the creek.



GHS Big Red Marching Machine competed in its first band contest Sept. 25 at Chestatee High School. The band placed first in the following divisions: Drum Major, Color Guard, Drumline, Majorettes, Dance Team and Band.

Additionally GHS received first place for Dance Team in Class, Majorettes in Class and Guard and second place for Drumline and Band.

To see the band's performance: forbes.



Gainesville High School bested its rival namesake school in Gainesville, Fla., in the LifeSouth Community Blood Centers donation contest.

The local school posed 20 percent of eligible donors to 11 percent for the Florida school.

Gainesville received a trophy and a drawing for a student to win a Blu-ray player. The event chairwoman was Helen Perry.


Riverside Military Academy congratulates C/1SG Daniel A. Arenas for his appointment to the position of Band Company First Sergeant for the 2010-11 academic year. Company First Sergeant duties include assisting the company commander and executive officer in all their duties and responsibilities, forming and aligning the company at all formations, and ensuring that all company members are properly uniformed and armed.

Cadet Arenas, from Gainesville, is the son of Guillermo and Alene Arenas.


Riverside Military Academy congratulates C/MAJ Andrew M. Olson for his appointment to the position of Battalion Operations and Training Officer (S-3) for the 2010-11 academic year. Battalion Operations and Training Officer duties include preparing weekly training schedules, planning and supervising field events, and coordinating the training of the drill team, color guard, and honor guard. The Riverside Corps of Cadets consists of over 350 students from 15 countries.

Cadet Olson, from Gainesville, is the son of Dr. Richard Olson and Terri Olson.


Linne M. Merck and Phillip Merck of Lula made the merit list at Darton College for the 2010 summer semester. To qualify for the merit list, a student must be part time and have earned a 3.4 or higher grade-point average.


The following local students received recognition for scholarships awarded during Agnes Scott College's fall convocation:

Erin Carner received a Charles A. Dana Scholarship for the 2010-11 academic year. Carner is the daughter of Nancy Thorne and Gary Carner. Charles A. Dana Scholars are selected primarily on the basis of academic achievement and demonstrated leadership in college activities.

Veronica Leon received a Gates Millenium Scholarship for the 2010-11 academic year. Leon is the daughter of Maria Leon and Rafael Leon. The Gates Millennium Scholars program offers recipients with academic empowerment services to encourage academic excellence; mentoring services for academic and personal development.


Regional events