By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hall County seniors earn GeorgiaBEST certification
Placeholder Image

Exactly 120 Hall County seniors participating in the Work-Based Learning Program at their respective high schools have earned their GeorgiaBEST (Business Ethics Student Training) certification.

With business and industry input, the Georgia Department of Labor put together 10 standards taught as part of the GeorgiaBEST program. Discipline and character, attendance and punctuality, work habits, teamwork, time management, self-management, attitude and respect, oral and written communication skills, appearance and professional image, responsibility and organization, productivity and academic performance were among the standards. The standards are incorporated into school curricula and over the course of their senior year.

Students have been building a portfolio and participating in various activities emphasizing the soft skills employers are needed in the workplace. Teachers evaluate student performance to help model the assessment in the business world, where bosses give annual performance reviews. Success is not based on a test, but on their daily and weekly performance.

Participating students earn 1, 2 or 3 points per standard, depending on how well and consistently they exhibit the skill. Those who earn 25 out of 30 possible points receive a GeorgiaBEST certificate from the GDOL, a designation that will enhance their college and job applications. The evaluation system helps employers find young workers ready for the job, helps students gain critical skills and helps the state enhance its workforce.

Congratulations to the following students:

*Chestatee High School: Anahy Ancieto, Julie Antonio, Sydney Creamer, Tiffany Culver, Brittaney Davenport, Taylor Daigrepont, Ali Eberhardt, Landon Hammond, Brittany Martin, Kristen Miklas, Madison Narvil, Brooke Odom, Cody Puckett, Katlyn Roberts, KayLynn Samples, Claire Smith, Ansley Taylor, Brandon Thompson, Mickey Timpone, Christen Watkins and Paige Williams.

* East Hall High School: Eliazar Andrade, Kaitlin Buffington, Brittany Campbell, Brian Edwards, Crystal Edwards and Emily Hoggard.

* Flowery Branch High School: Uyen Cao, Montana Doran, Lundon Edwards, Hannah Gray, Ashley Groves, Alexandra Herndon, Benjamin Horton, Hayley Isbell, William Jones, Kaley Kight, Heather Lespinasse, Renisha Lollie, Taylor Mays, Taylor McMillian, Brianna Mendoza, Sarah Oliver, Brittany Parker, Jessica Pitts, Ryan Shadburn, Kristen Smith, Bret Sweeney, Dani Taylor, Brock Tittle, Anthony Williams and Brooke Young.

* Johnson High School: Grayson Anthony, Jessica Bond, Ariana Cervantes, Cristian Cuevas, Hailey Macks, Rachel Matthews, Nallely Mercado, Blake Miller, Long Nguyen, Kenzie Pass, Kayla Reed, Lauren Smith, Tien Ta and Elizabeth Vences.

* Lanier Charter Career Academy: Kayla Dinkel and KayLynn Samples.

* North Hall High School: Michael Allmond, Amy Batchelor, Caroline Bennett, Austin Black, Lawrence Chen, Ansley Chester, Taylor Cox, Julie Anne Eavenson, Jessie Edge, Rebecca Gowder, Jazmine Hayes, Jordan Hood, Joan Im, Emily Jernigan, Alex Lawson, Hailey Lee, Brittany Leggett, Callen Little, Brooks Manson, Savannah Mendenhall, McCree Milford, Jessie Oliver, Wiley Oliver, Caleb Parrish, Thomas Peppers, Mackenzie Potts, Katelyn Reems, Victoria Rogers, Layne Saliba, Carlee Savage, Abbi Shoaf, Tricia Thompson, Brianne Truelove and Kelsey Underwood.

* West Hall High School: Annet Aguirre, Brittney Bartlett, Emily Bruns, Joseph Burt, Cailyn Cain, Maranda Dalton, Kirste Floyd, Cassandra Kornstadt, Damini Patel, Casey Roberts, Cassidy Ruffalo, Carrie Ruis, Savannah Simpson, Dilan Tanner, Taylor Todriff, Esmeralda Trevino and Jessica Williams.

* Students of the Year for each high school and state finalists for the GA BEST Student of the Year award are: Chestatee High, Sydney Creamer; East Hall High, Brittany Campbell; Flowery Branch High, Uyen Thanh Cao; Johnson, Lauren Nicole Smith; Lanier Charter Career Academy, KayLynn Samples; North Hall, Abbi Shoaf; and West Hall High, Cassandra Kornstadt.

Friends to Follow social media