By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good News, May 20
Northeast Georgia Writers 2012 Award Winners from back left: Tommye Wright, Nancy Sturtevant, Ruthanna Bass, Rose Parsons, Lynda Holmes, Rosemary Mallinson, Juliana Finch. From front left: Bonnie Unnold, Marianne Scott, Julianna Ramsey, Jeanne Hozak.

Thomas Larry Nix of Gainesville was honored as one of the Golden Anniversary alumni at Reinhardt University’s 2012 commencement ceremony.

Sixteen members of the Class of 1962 returned to their alma mater to celebrate their Golden Anniversary (50 years). Each was honored and recognized during the ceremony, and the group celebrated the occasion before and after the main event.

The Northeast Georgia Writers recently held their 38th annual awards banquet at the Gainesville Elks Lodge, announcing winners of the 2012 writing contests. The theme was “Music is Sweet Inspiration,” in memory of the late Harriet Woodcock.

Atlanta musician Juliana Finch entertained attendees and gave a presentation about songwriting. Judges included Gary Kerley, acclaimed poet and retired educator; Brad Strickland, Gainesville State College professor and author of 60 plus novels; Annmarie Tait, author of numerous “Chicken Soup for the Soul” stories; and Steve Ward, Brenau University Learning and Leisure Institute Instructor and author.

Jeanne Hozak, Assistant Director for Adult Services, Hall County Library presented the following awards:

Assigned Subject: First place Bonnie Unnold; second place, Rosemary Harris-Mallinson; third place, Lynda Holmes.

Poetry: First place, Rose Matthis Parsons; second place, Holmes; third place, Julianna Ramsey.

Short story: First place, Tommye Wright; second place, Ramsey; third place, Ruthanna Kilpatrick-Bass.

Children’s story: First place, Holmes; second place, Nancy Sturtevant; third place, Unnold.

Nonfiction article: First place, Unnold; second place, Wright; third place, Harris-Mallinson.

My Own Life Story: First place, Wright; second place, Harris-Mallinson; third place, Unnold.

Song Lyrics: First place, Unnold; second place, Kilpatrick-Bass; third place, Harris-Mallinson.

Drama: First place, Holmes; second place, Unnold; third place, Kilpatrick-Bass.

Snoopy Writer of the Year: Marianne Scott;

Woodstock Appreciated Worker of the Year: Holmes.

Membership in Northeast Georgia Writers is open to anyone interested in writing (