By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Good News
Placeholder Image

The Lake Lanier Convention & Visitors Bureau honored area leaders for their work in the hospitality industry over the past year. The Annual Shining Star Awards are presented each summer during the CVB’s annual meeting. This year’s recipients include:

Out of the Box Award — Hall County Commission — in recognition of their progressive support of the CVB’s initiatives this past year.

Blazing Star Award — Lanier Charter Career Academy / Hall County Schools — in recognition of their outstanding efforts with Hospitality High.

Sky’s the Limit Award — North Georgia Canopy Tours — Hall County’s newest tourism attraction was recognized for their contribution to the local industry.

Beyond the Call — Rochester & Associates, Inc. — in recognition of their outstanding community support and corporate giving.

Special Recognition:

Robert Croy — Northeast Georgia Regional Visitor Information Center manager was recognized with a plaque for his years of service.

Betsy Adams — Outgoing CVB chairperson was recognized for her volunteerism and leadership.

New Officers/Directors for the 2010-2011 year:

Chair Stan Brown City of Oakwood

Vice Chair Terry Roberts Dayracer Motorsports

Secretary Billy Powell Hall County Commission

Treasurer Geoff Lee Road Atlanta

Sr. Advisor Betsy Adams AdMark Strategies


Shelley McMahon Hampton Inn & Suites, Flowery Branch

Bill Donohue Lake Lanier Islands Development Authority

Bill Andrew City of Flowery Branch

Gladys Wyant The Arts Council

Susan Rector Hall County Business License

Greg Walker Hall County Parks & Recreation

Hussein Khimani Comfort Inn, Buford

The CVB Shining Star Awards are in their seventh year. Former recipients include: Jackson EMC, City of Gainesville, Georgia Department of Transportation, Scott Dixon, City of Oakwood, Lake Lanier Islands and the North Georgia History Center. Began as a promotional program for the CVB, the Shining Star Awards have grown into a local industry mainstay.

Awarded annually, the recipients are nominated by the CVB staff and voted on by the Executive Board.

Regional events