View Mobile Site

Burn ban begins today

POSTED: April 30, 2014 10:47 p.m.

The Georgia Environmental Protection Division’s burn ban that applies to 54 counties, including Hall and several others in Northeast Georgia, begins today.

The annual ban, which ends Sept. 30, also applies to Banks, Dawson, Forsyth, Jackson and Lumpkin counties.

The ban is part of an effort to reduce pollutants that cause ground-level ozone during smog season.

Fires that are allowed during the ban include some agricultural burning, campfires or barbecues and firefighting training with permit. For more information on the ban, visit or call Hall County Fire Services at 770-531–6838 or EPD’s Northeast District Office at 706-369-6376.

Residents who ignore the burn ban can face fines up to $1,000 and 30 days in jail.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2010 The Times, Gainesville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...