View Mobile Site

Annual burn ban to begin on May 1

POSTED: April 18, 2014 12:18 a.m.

The Georgia Environmental Protection Division’s burn ban that applies to 54 counties, including Hall and several others in Northeast Georgia, is set to begin May 1.

The annual ban, which ends Sept. 30, also applies to Banks, Dawson, Forsyth, Jackson and Lumpkin counties. 

The ban is part of an effort to reduce pollutants that cause ground-level ozone during smog season.

Although the calendar may indicate there are 12 days left to burn, there may actually be fewer.

“The burn permit line may not be issuing permits on certain days due to weather conditions,” Hall County Fire Marshal Scott Cagle said.

Cagle said if the humidity is too low or winds are too high, burning will not be allowed that day. He said residents need to call the automated line the day they want to burn to see if permits are being issued.

Residents can get more information on the burn ban by calling Hall County Fire Services at 770-531–6838 or EPD’s Northeast District Office at 706-369–6376.

Residents who burn yard waste during the ban without a permit can face fines up to $1,000 and 30 days in jail.

To obtain residential permits for burning leaves and small limbs, call 770-536–2442, or for clearing land or trees, call 770-531–6838 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.


Contents of this site are © Copyright 2010 The Times, Gainesville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...