View Mobile Site

Take a sneak peek at The Times' new website

August 17th, 2017 08:11 a.m.

Take a sneak peek at The Times' new website

August 17th, 2017 08:10 a.m.


Gainesville, Flowery Branch players dominate 8-AAAAA All-Region football teams

POSTED: December 9, 2013 6:34 p.m.

Fourteen Gainesville high football players and 10 Flowery Branch players earned 8-AAAAA All-Region honors, announced Monday.

Gainesville quarterback Deshaun Watson was named Region 8-AAAAA Offensive Player of the Year, Red Elephants linebacker Devan Stringer is Defensive Player of the Year, and Gage Turner earned Special Teams Player of the Year. Gainesville coach Bruce Miller is the Region Coach of the Year.

Fellow Red Elephants Michael Byrd, Jay Gaudlock, Colton Quinones, J.D. Sosebee, Lewis Cousins and Chandler Newton earned First Team honors.

For Flowery Branch, Jackson McDonald, Cameron Davis, Andrew Miles, Rashaan Doleman and Grant Simonds were named to the first team.

Region 8-AAAAA All-Region Teams

Coach of the Year

Bruce Miller, Gainesville

Offensive Player of the Year

Deshaun Watson, Gainesville

Defensive Player of the Year

Devan Stringer, Gainesville

Special Teams Player of the Year

Gage Turner, Gainesville

First Team

QB, Jackson McDonald, Flowery Branch
RB, Adrian Washington, Cedar Shoals
RB, Michael Byrd, Gainesville
WR, Austin Johnson, Clarke Central
WR, Cameron Davis, Flowery Branch
WR, Jay Gaudlock, Gainesville
OL, Daeshaun White, Clarke Central
OL, Andrew Miles, Flowery Branch
OL, Rashaan Doleman, Flowery Branch
OL, Zach Mason, Loganville
OL, Tyler Junius, Winder-Barrow
DL, Grant Simonds, Flowery Branch
DL, Colton Quinones, Gainesville
DL, Donovan Norfleet, Heritage
DL, Dante Hibbert, Loganville
LB, Kavon Williams, Clarke Central
LB, J.D. Sosebee, Gainesville
LB, Daniel Foster, Heritage
LB, Jeremy Ramsey, Winder-Barrow
DB, Jody Mathis, Apalachee
DB, Lewis Cousins, Gainesville
DB, Chandler Newton, Gainesville
DB, Quintavious Byrd, Salem
K, Austin Kulp, Heritage
Flex, Cameron Johnson, Clarke Central
Flex, Licash Lackey, Salem

Second Team

QB, Cameron Johnson, Clarke Central
RB, Jody Mathis, Apalachee
RB, Chandon Sullivan, Winder-Barrow
WR, Rodney Lackey, Gainesville
WR, Chastin Newman, Gainesville
WR, Anthony Stanley, Heritage
WR, Josh Owen Loganville
OL, Joel Ryder, Flowery Branch
OL, Edgar Arroyo, Gainesville
OL, Chandler Peeples, Heritage
OL, Robert Stanfield, Loganville
DL, Christian Dufrene, Apalachee
DL, Alan Miller, Clarke Central
DL, Derek Nance, Heritage
DL, Quintius Maddox, Salem
DL, Trey Russell, Winder-Barrow
LB, Cole Ford, Flowery Branch
LB, Davante King, Flowery Branch
LB, Seth Fallen, Heritage
LB, Tyler Mixon, Loganville
DB, Rayshawn McCall, Clarke Central
DB, Brenton Merritt, Gainesville
DB, Josh Owen, Loganville
DB, Chandon Sullivan, Winder-Barrow
K, Matt Ward, Clarke Central
Flex, Michael Byrd, Gainesville
Flex, Obie Fortune, Heritage

Honorable Mention

RB, Robbie Cyrus, Salem
DL, Kevonte Bugg, Clarke Central
DL, Cedric Armstrong, Clarke Central
DL, Jalon Jackson, Heritage
DL, Bher Cooper, Salem
DL, Andre Scott, Winder-Barrow
LB, Chance Rodriguez, Apalachee
LB, Kellen Clark, Flowery Branch
LB, Willie Johnson, Loganville
LB, Cam Johnson, Salem
LB, Cole Baggett, Winder-Barrow
DB, Trevor Burgess, Cedar Shoals
DB, Jeremy James, Flowery Branch
DB, Chris Byrd, Gainesville


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.




Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...