View Mobile Site

Piedmont Singers to present four ‘Great Composers’

POSTED: March 14, 2013 12:30 a.m.

The Piedmont College Singers will present works by Benjamin Britten, Leonard Bernstein, Eriks Esenvalds and Ralph Vaughn Williams in a concert at 7:30 p.m. March 16 at the college chapel.

The concert is part of the continuing “Great Composers Series” at Piedmont. Admission is $10, $5 for students and seniors, free to all Piedmont students, faculty and staff.

Dr. Wallace Hinson, chair of the Department of Music, will conduct the performance by the 53-voice Piedmont Singers, with accompanist Louise Bass on the Sewell organ. The performance also will feature harpist Monica Hargrave and percussionist Taylor Sexton.

The concert will include Bernstein’s “Chichester Psalms,” commissioned in 1965 for the Three Choirs Festival, held at Chichester Cathedral since 1700. Composed for chorus, boy alto, organ, harp and percussion, each movement of the work includes an entire Psalm, with excerpts from another Psalm as commentary or contrast.

“Rejoice in the Lamb” by Benjamin Britten is a multisection work written for chorus, soloists and organ based on the poem “Jubilate Agno,” written by Christopher Smart about 1759. The poem was not published until 1939 and features Smart’s ode to “My Cat Jeoffry.”

Esenvald’s “Long Road” is the English translation of a poem written by Paulina Barda for her husband, the Latvian poet Fricis Barda.

The final selection, “Five Mystical Songs,” composed for chorus, baritone solo and organ, is a setting of poems by George Herbert from his 1633 collection, “The Temple: Sacred Poems.” The work was first performed in 1911 with Vaughn Williams conducting.

The concert will feature numerous soloists, including 11-year-old Matthew Blouin Davidorf of Atlanta, who has performed with the Atlanta Opera and son of Piedmont graduate Beverly Blouin. Student soloists will include Lily Landeros, Mitchell Auger, Brett Bellamy, Chris Sudderth, John Wright, Vince Buchanan, Lindsey Brakhage, Kelly Hood, Ben Rikeman, Sky Ross, Jennifer Pitt, Allison Criswell, Brianna Foley, Rebekah Staton and Nicholas Johnson.

Contents of this site are © Copyright 2010 The Times, Gainesville, GA. All rights reserved. Privacy policy and Terms of service

Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...