View Mobile Site


A little Ludwig fall music comes to Gwinnett Center

Beethoven Fall Fiesta Concert set for Saturday

POSTED: November 18, 2010 12:30 a.m.
/For The Times

German/Syrian pianist-composer Malek Jandali will premiere five of his original works, including a new arrangement of Chopin's famous Nocturne in B Flat Minor, at Saturday's Beethoven Fall Fiesta Concert at the Gwinnett Center.

View Larger
View More »

The Ludwig Symphony Orchestra presents "A Beethoven Fall Fiesta Gala Concert" at 8 p.m. Saturday at the Gwinnett Center-Performing Arts Center.

Maestro Thomas Ludwig, former music director of the New York City Symphony and resident conductor for American Ballet Theatre with Mikhail Baryshnikov, will lead the 80-piece orchestra in a varied and colorful program. The pieces will include Mozart's-Overture to "Don Giovanni," selections from Mendelssohn's-Symphony No. 4 "The Italian" and a world premiere of Ludwig's "Adagietto in E major".

The performance features internationally renowned Taiwanese pianist-Sin Hsing Tsai interpreting the Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 2; a stunning 10-year-old Russian violinist, Alexander Ambartsumian, performing the first movement of the Lalo-Symphonie Espagnole; the German/Syrian pianist-composer Malek Jandali premiering five of his original works, including a new arrangement of Chopin's famous Nocturne in B Flat Minor; and Haotien-He, a Chinese clarinetist performing the Weber-Concertino.

Also on this gala concert is a special appearance by the Atlanta Vocal Project-Clay Hine-Music Director. The 28-member acappella barbershop-style chorus will perform "Ding Dong, The Wicked Witch is Dead" with dancing and acting involved, and arrangements by Clay Hine.

Tickets may be purchased by calling 770-623-8623, at the Gwinnett Center Box Office, or at Prices are $19 for adults, $17 for seniors, and $10 for students under 22. For more information call: 770-623-8623 or click here.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.




Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...