View Mobile Site


School news

POSTED: April 26, 2010 5:30 a.m.

Shane Durham of Alto recently graduated from Excelsior College in Albany, N.Y.


Fernando Luisjuan of Oakwood was among those named the most accomplished winter quarter graduates of The Art Institute of Atlanta during the college’s recent graduation awards ceremony. Luisjuan earned the Best Portfolio award in the bachelor of fine arts program for graphic design.

The Best Portfolio award is presented to the graduate in each academic department whose portfolio best exhibits the creative ability, technical expertise and design sophistication of a professional portfolio.


The following students were recently named to the dean’s list at Shorter College in Rome. To qualify for this honor, students must complete a minimum of 12 semester hours with at least a 3.5 GPA.

From Gainesville: Amanda Albertson, Alan Bennett, Stephen Cannon, Sha’Doris Godwin, Jared Williams, Dominique Woods.

From Flowery Branch: Samuel Gresham and Hailey Yagle.

From Cumming: Jennifer Austin, Hanna Bettis, Spenser Bettis, Christian Bigliani, Courtney Estes, Anna Mertz, Whitney Richert, David Sanders, Rae Wagoner, Victoria Watson, Amanda Whigham.


The following students were recently inducted into the National Technical Honors Society at North Georgia Technical College in Clarkesville: Kirsti Matson, Anthony Sears, Jeffrey Losee, Christopher Gibbs and James Latty.

To qualify for this honor, students must be nominated by an instructor and maintain a 3.7 GPA.


The following students recently graduated from Excelsior College in Albany, N.Y.: Deborah Erbrick of Buford and Angela Welborn of Cleveland.


The following Gainesville Middle School students have been selected to participate in the ninth district honor band: Gabrielle Diaz, Andrew Kelley, Morgan Mercer, Monica Ramirez, Ariane Olalde, Valeria Hernandez, Cassidy Pendleton, Stacy Casteneda, Yessenia Macias, John Li, Meghan Wuest and Chance Jordan. Band director is Craig Bailey and assistant band director is Joey Forbes.


Sabrina Sing, a student at Gainesville High School, was recently elected state reporter for the Health Occupations Students of America, and Tevin Bridges was elected region seven representative. They and other health care students recently competed at the HOSA leadership conference.


Phuc Lieu was named state champion in Pharmacology; Vy Tran and Phuc Lieu placed in Keiser Knowledge Test; and Brittany Massey, Vy Tran, Silva Ngyun and Jasmine Bullock placed fifth in Public Service Announcement team.


The Gainesville High School Academic Bowl Team recently placed second in the State Academic Bowl. Team members are Cody Stephens, captain Charlie Bryant, Isaac Hopkins, Crystal Dorsey, John Lee Givogre and William Morris.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.




Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...