View Mobile Site


Area business women celebrate 10 years of annual award

POSTED: April 17, 2009 11:02 p.m.

The American Business Women’s Association has scheduled its 10th annual Business Woman of the Year Luncheon for Wednesday.

The luncheon is the organization’s largest fundraiser. A portion of the proceeds will go toward providing educational awards to worthy students, said Susan Rettig, president of the organization.

Rettig said last year the organization provided seven awards of $500 each to students.

"Those kids are just so awesome," Rettig said. "We really need a good turnout."

The recipient of the Business Woman of the Year distinction will be revealed at the luncheon.

"What we look for is a person who has not only impacted the business world but the community," Rettig said.

Past recipients include community activist and former Hall County Commissioner Deborah Mack, Gainesville State College President Martha Nesbitt and Kit Dunlap, president of the Greater Hall Chamber of Commerce.

The luncheon is set for 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday at First Baptist Church on Green Street in Gainesville.

The keynote speaker will be Mary Frank, the associate vice president of academic affairs at Gainesville State College.

Reserved seating for tables of eight is $210. Tickets are $30 per person.

The American Business Women’s Association is a nationwide organization founded in 1949.

The Lake Lanier Charter Chapter is part of a national network of business women that meets monthly and encourages the development of personal skills, leadership qualities and educational opportunities necessary for a successful career, Rettig said.

To reserve a ticket or receive more information, call B.J. Tjepkema at 770-534-1925


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.




Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...