View Mobile Site


School news

POSTED: March 9, 2009 1:00 a.m.
/For The Times

The Flowery Branch High School Science Bowl team placed third in the sub-regional Science Bowl earlier in the month, earning them a trip to the 2009 Science Bowl state championships.

View Larger
View More »

The Flowery Branch High School Science Bowl team earned a trip to the 2009 Science Bowl state championships on Feb. 28 in Savannah after placing third in the sub-regional Science Bowl earlier in the month. The team is coached by Flowery Branch advanced-placement chemistry teacher Sonha Payne and junior Andrew Popovici is the captain. Team members include juniors Spencer Hughes and Chelsea Freihaut and sophomores Kyle Williams and Kevin Williams. 

The following Flowery Branch High School students recently competed at the Region Leadership Conference in Madison County and will go on to compete at the State Leadership Conference on March 27 and 28: Megan Murphy, second place, word processing I; Patrick Doyle and Derrick Bland, second place, emerging business issues; Amanda Brown, fifth place, computer applications; Cody Reeves and Emily Obremski, fifth place, desktop publishing. 

Katie Clark, daughter of Ronald and Sally Clark of Gainesville, was recently crowned the 2009 Homecoming Queen at North Georgia College & State University in Dahlonega. She is a member of Phi Mu sorority.

Johnson High School had 39 students compete in the Georgia Career Student Association region three competition on Feb. 6. Thirty-four students are eligible to compete at the state conference, April 1-4 at the Jekyll Island Conference Center in Jekyll Island.

First-place winners were: Leslie Navarro, agricultural science; Kayla Mabrey, career exploration manual (ninth and 10th grade); Diego Cuevas, community/civic awareness; Cristal Vera, construction technology; Gullie Morilla, cosmetology: nail design; Karen Benitez, culinary arts; Naara Martinez, fashion design; Paty Mota, interior design; Jackie Zelaya, most improved young lady; Gerardo Flowers, most improved young man; Cody Collins, natural resource management; David Umana, woodworking; Jareth Muniz, word processing (ninth and 10th); Karina Rodriguez, chapter of the year - superior; Francisco Morfin, communication skills (ninth and 10th); Elizabeth Rodriguez, entrepreneurship.

Second-place winners were: Danira Lara, architectural drafting; Jallissia Daniel, child care and development; Ana Molina, cosmetology: hair design; Diana Castaneda, school project; Jesus Muniz, mathematical concepts (ninth and 10th); Jesus Delgado, mathematical application (11th and 12th); Paty Mota, job interview; Yesenia Covarrubias, leadership development; Will Little, extemporaneous speaking; Hannah Hall, health care science technology; Maria Cruz, PowerPoint; Michael Ramirez and Adam Reimers, video production.

Third-place winners were: Caroline Barker, floral design; Jackie Ramirez, prepared speech; Alex Diaz, Ubaldo DeLeon, Alejandra Vazuez, creative problem solving; Miriam Santos, communication skills (ninth and 10th).

Ben Martin, a student at Clemson University in Clemson, S.C., earned a 4.0 grade-point average and was named to the president's list for the fall 2008 semester. He is the son of Mike and Abby Martin of Oakwood and a graduate of West Hall High School.


Commenting not available.
Commenting is not available.




Powered by
Morris Technology
Please wait ...